Overview STRESS project

STRESS

Millions of people across all ages are affected by stress. Stress has long-term negative consequences on mental and physical health and is a strong risk factor for chronic conditions, particularly psychiatric and cardiovascular diseases. The prevalence of stress-induced diseases has become of major concern in the past years. But despite the recognition of this important public health problem, it remains difficult to diagnose stress pathologies, especially in children and adolescents.

To address this problem, experts in psychiatry and psychology, neurosciences, cell and molecular biology, cardiology, engineering, and translational bioinformatics have initiated the STRESS project. Their goal is to study risk and resilience of stress exposure across the lifespan and their impact on health.

The STRESS project will develop a dynamic and radically innovative research program based on state-of-the-art methodologies to create a paradigm shift in the current thinking about stress-induced diseases and novel therapeutic approaches.

Overview STRESS project

STRESS

Millionen von Menschen aller Altersgruppen sind von Stress betroffen. Stress hat langfristige negative Auswirkungen auf die psychische und physische Gesundheit und ist ein starker Risikofaktor für chronische Erkrankungen, insbesondere für psychiatrische und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Die Prävalenz von stressbedingten Krankheiten hat in den letzten Jahren große Besorgnis ausgelöst. Doch trotz der Anerkennung dieses wichtigen Problems für die öffentliche Gesundheit ist es nach wie vor schwierig, Stresspathologien zu diagnostizieren, insbesondere bei Kindern und Jugendlichen.

Um dieses Problem anzugehen, haben Experten aus den Bereichen Psychiatrie und Psychologie, der Neurowissenschaften, Zell- und Molekularbiologie, Kardiologie, Ingenieurwissenschaften und der translationalen Bioinformatik das Projekt STRESS ins Leben gerufen. Ihr Ziel ist es, das Risiko und die Widerstandsfähigkeit von Stressbelastungen über die gesamte Lebensspanne hindurch sowie deren Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit zu untersuchen.

Das STRESS-Projekt wird ein dynamisches und radikal innovatives Forschungsprogramm entwickeln, das sich auf modernste Methoden stützt, um einen Paradigmenwechsel im derzeitigen Denken über stressbedingte Krankheiten und neue therapeutische Ansätze herbeizuführen.