Objectives and Goals

Promoting Collaboration between Partner Institutions

A major objective of University Medicine Zurich concerns promoting collaboration between the two highly ranked local Universities, the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich, and the University’s hospitals in research and education at the intersection between basic medical research, life sciences, engineering, clinical research, and medical care. The academic setting in Zurich offers expertise in a wide range of medical disciplines and offers a unique potential for innovative, interdisciplinary, and translational research.

Enhancing Cooperation and Visibility

University Medicine Zurich serves as a platform to launch new projects, to enhance existing collaborations, and to define and develop new strategic focus projects in the field of translational medicine. University Medicine Zurich serves as both interface and liaison to the executive boards of the partner institutions as well as to other academic and public institutions, and to the private sector. The coordination of activities enhances project visibility and facilitates funding.

Developing Strategic Focus Projects

University Medicine Zurich has a broad network and is an effective point of contact for researchers looking for a certain expertise or research partner. 

To specifically promote large interdisciplinary projects with national and international lighthouse character, University Medicine Zurich supports one flagship project each year with substantial seed money.

Apart from research, innovative education also occupies an important place in this context, which is why specific interdisciplinary education programs will be promoted and coordinated through University Medicine Zurich.

Aufgaben und Ziele

Förderung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mitgliedern der Gesellschaftspartner

Das Ziel der Hochschulmedizin Zürich ist die Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit der beiden Hochschulen und der universitären Spitäler in Forschung und Ausbildung im Grenzbereich zwischen bio-medizinischen Grundlagenwissenschaften, Naturwissenschaften, Ingenieurwissenschaften, klinischer Forschung und medizinischer Versorgung. Der Hochschulplatz Zürich bietet auf engem Raum Expertise in allen relevanten Disziplinen und besitzt ein einzigartiges Potenzial für innovative, disziplinübergreifende Forschung.

Bestehende Kooperationen stärken, Schwerpunkte setzen, Reichweite erhöhen

Die Hochschulmedizin Zürich versteht sich als Plattform, durch die bestehende Kooperationen ausgebaut und neue Schwerpunktprojekte im Bereich der translationalen Forschung aufgegriffen und entwickelt werden. Sie wirkt als Schnittstelle und Verbindung zu den Leitungsgremien der Mitglieder, sowie weiteren Institutionen aus Akademie, Öffentlichkeit und Wirtschaft. Die Koordination der Aktivitäten erhöht die Reichweite und Sichtbarkeit der Projekte und erleichtert die Mittelbeschaffung.

Neue Projekte fördern

Die Hochschulmedizin Zürich ist dank ihres weiten Netzwerks die ideale Anlaufstelle für Forschende, die eine bestimmte Expertise oder einen Forschungspartner suchen. 

Zur gezielten Förderung von grossen interdisziplinären Projekten mit Ausstrahlungskraft über den Raum Zürich hinaus unterstützt die Hochschulmedizin Zürich jährlich ein bis zwei „Flagship Projekte“ mit einer Anschubfinanzierung.

Die Ausbildung und Nachwuchsförderung hat hohe Priorität. Daher nimmt neben der Forschung auch die innovative Lehre einen hohen Stellenwert ein. Spezifische interdisziplinäre Ausbildungsprogramme werden über die Hochschulmedizin Zürich gefördert und koordiniert.